Investment Funds Established in Ireland

The Central Bank is responsible for the authorisation and supervision of investment funds established in Ireland (“investment funds”). 

Investment funds are established for the purpose of investing the pooled funds of investors (held as units or shares) in assets in accordance with investment objectives and investment policies published in a prospectus. 

There are two main categories of funds authorised by the Central Bank

  • UCITS (Undertakings for Collective Investment in Transferable Securities)
  • AIFs


UCITS have their basis in EU legislation and once authorised in one Member State, may be marketed throughout the EU, without further authorisation. This is described as a EU passport. UCITS are retail investment products. 

Alternative Investment Funds

  • AIFs are authorised under the following pieces of domestic legislation:
  • Irish Collective Asset-management Vehicle (ICAV) Act 2015;
  • Unit Trusts Act, 1990;
  • Companies Act, 1990 Part XIII;
  • Investment Limited Partnerships Act, 1994; and
  • Investment Funds, Companies and Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 2005.  


Collective Investment Scheme Monthly Statistics


March 2017 - Monthly List Authorised Funds | pdf 381 KB March 2017 - Monthly Fund Data | pdf 120 KB